My journey, photography and adventure WordPress.com site

Alcaraz Farm

I was inspired by their hard work. When I was young, I used to come here during summer or weekend. All they have at that time were dozens of chickens and bountiful of corn in which we cook can full and take it to suba where we swim.

During my vacation in april 2010, I’ve visited my Auntie (first cousin of my mother) who was just a few kilometers from the city center of Sorsogon (Bgy. Cabid-an). During my childhood days, I used to come here especially during harvest time of their corn. During those days, ‘di pa gaanong develop ang lugar nila. Her children developed the area as they grow old. Hindi nagkakalayo sa edad ko ang mga anak nya that’s why we are closed to each other. I’m so thankful that I bring along my camera when I visited her. (she had already poor vision due to catarata.) Here are the pictures taken from their place which I want to share with you.

“The fruit of their labor.”

They open this during high tide to let the brackish water in. But of course there is a net so that their cultured bangus will not swim out.

Ang sarap seguro dito mag siesta.

Balsang Kawayan

2 responses

  1. Uncle D

    Is Luisa the name of your Auntie in Cabidan? I remember your Mohther has a niece who use to stay with us when she attend college in Colegio de Milagrosa. She is about 10 year older than me, because I am only Grade III when we move in & stayed in Bitano.

    March 15, 2012 at 5:15 am

    • Hello Uncle D, yes she is Auntie Luisa (tiya Isang for short), and I always go to there place every time I’m having a vacation in Sorsogon. This summer I might take my kids with me and my kayak, and will try to paddle on their fish ponds. She has now poor vision and she is very happy every time we pay a visit to her. When I was kid, I used to stay there during harvest time of their corn. Together with her children, we boil a can full of corn and bring it suba where we enjoyed swimming and eating…

      March 19, 2012 at 5:23 am

Leave a Reply

