My journey, photography and adventure WordPress.com site

Pinaculan and the Sea Shore of Bitan-o

Pinaculan island as seen from Rompeolas

Pinaculan is a tiny island situated between the Rompeolas  and the shore of Bitan-o. It was an idle land some years ago. But my mother once told me that there was an observation structure there. It was one of my option for my thesis proposal before I graduated from college. The island is very interesting for a site development planning and design proposal for architectural students. During my elementary years, we used to gather from there boulders and sand to patch into the holes of the pathway going to our school-Bitan-o Elementary School.

 Foot bridge to Pinaculan Island

The suba of Bitan-o

Two decades had passed since I last stepped foot in the island, I discovered that it is not an idle land anymore. I revisited it last February 2011, and found out that there are more or less twenty households occupies the islet. Though they are illegal settlers, they had made the land productive. If it was full of cogon before, now it is like a banana plantation. There are bananas everywhere. I’ve spotted also a pili tree, coconut trees and some pineapple plants. One house I passed by has a backyard pig pen. I just followed the trail, and it brought me to the other side of the island. On the east side facing Rompeolas and the new break water.

Though Bacon Beach has a very nice water to plunge in, there were times that we swim at Bitan-o. Just a walking distance from our house and will not cost you a single centavo. When the moon is big, it means the tide is high and is good for swimming.  And when the tide is low, it is good to gather some tagunhas (sea shells). We usually went there before the sun rise.

The fisher folks of Pinaculan island

This is the area where we collect tagunhas (sea shells) when we were kids.

Pili tree in the island
 side

Rompeolas as seen from the east side of Pinaculan

Fresh water well in the island

A young beach comber found a coconut.

When the Sorsogon Bay was not yet contaminated by red tide, we frequently went there to collect sea shells. Punaw, kagot, barisara, piyong, talaba and kasag are the common take home. Sometimes you could find baluko and badoy too. Talaba (oister) could be sometimes un-noticed because it is attached to a rock.  And you thought it’s just a rock. Sometimes I cracked a shell of talaba and eat the content right there. It’s very tasty. You could find also crab or tambagoy (talimusak in tagalog) underneath the rock if you upturned it.

Now that red tide is not being raised down, and the coast line of Bitan-o is being occupied by migrated residents, you couldn’t see people combing the shore line of Bitan-o and Cambulaga (adjacent baranggay) even if the tide is low. A beach combing which my children’s generation might never experience.

12 responses

  1. Tito P. Robles Jr.

    Good day,

    I very muck like your story about Pinaculan Island and the photos you took. I’m an Architecture student and I’m currently having my thesis using the Pinaculan Island. It seems that you are very much familiar with the Island and I’m having an hard type entering and how to gather actual information and natural features of the island. If its not too much, can I ask for some help if you have any sort of information regarding the island and photos also.

    Thank you very much

    November 3, 2011 at 11:39 am

  2. Tito P. Robles Jr.

    Good day,

    I very muck like your story about Pinaculan Island and the photos you took. I’m an Architecture student and I’m currently having my thesis using the Pinaculan Island. It seems that you are very much familiar with the Island and I’m having an hard type entering and how to gather actual information and natural features of the island. If its not too much, can I ask for some help if you have any sort of information regarding the island and photos also.

    Thank you very much

    November 3, 2011 at 11:41 am

    • Hi, good day and thank you for visiting my site. You could access Pinaculan Island from Bgy. Bitan-o. From downtown sorsogon, take a tricycle and tell the driver to take you to Bitan-o Elementary School. For sure he will charge you more than minimum fare ‘coz it is out of usual route. Bahala ka na makipagtawaran. Upon reaching the school, follow the pathwalk to the east. It will lead you to a foot bridge crossing suba. At the other end of the bridge is already the Pinaculan islet. Don’t hesitate to ask to the locals. I went there alone, but it’s better to bring a companion. I have a few photos here and will send it to you (just don’t remove the watermarks on it). By the way what school are you?

      God Bless,
      G300

      November 10, 2011 at 5:21 am

      • Tito Robles Jr.

        Thank you very much sir. This will be a big help for me. I’m from Technological Institute of the Philippines-Manila.

        God Bless
        TJ

        November 11, 2011 at 3:37 am

      • Oh, that is my alma mater too. I graduated form TIP-Mla, also Architecture. TIP had a lot of improvements to their campuses since I graduated in 1991. Ok give your best and good luck!

        November 11, 2011 at 4:25 am

      • Tito Robles Jr.

        They planned to change and improve everything. Soon it will be air-conditioned. Sir, Can I ask you question?(maybe its quite funny) Since you’ve been in the island and some how saw and felt what’s inside, How or what did you feel inside the island? Thank you sir.

        God Bless

        November 11, 2011 at 4:46 am

      • I felt peace. The only thing I was worried about was I might stepped in a property that the owner might think i’m a robber. But so far mababait naman mga tao. I lost my way back dahil sa bandang ibaba ako dumaan instead na sa itaas. Nagtanong ako sa isang bahay, at itunuro naman nila ang daan. If you mean about the ghostly thing, wala naman akong naramdaman.

        November 11, 2011 at 11:21 am

  3. Tito Robles Jr.

    I’ll try what you said when I came back. I’m already back in manila. I tried to walk on the shore to get to the other end, maybe that’s the part that you’re saying, but I failed to reach it ‘coz some part of it a lot of dogs where there in the shore. I can’t pass. Heheh. Thank you again.

    November 11, 2011 at 3:42 am

  4. Jes Ebio Dellosa.

    looks very interesting………………im originated from the shores of Bacon Sorsogon!

    November 14, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    • Thank you. Tulong-gapo beach is also my favorite destination during summer. Almost every Easter Sunday, I was there.

      November 14, 2011 at 8:22 pm

  5. rosema c jalang

    hai can i apply oyur restaurant.i need work for my schooling

    April 26, 2013 at 11:15 am

    • sorry, i don’t own a restaurant 😦

      October 9, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Leave a comment